Rough Steve Picture

School of Pharmacy Hosts 32nd Annual John W. Webb Lecture with Steve Rough

The John W. Webb Visiting Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy was established in 1985 at the Northeastern University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions, now part of the Bouvé College of Health Sciences. Appointment to the John W. Webb Visiting Professorship recognizes commitment to hospital pharmacy management, experience as a practitioner and educator, and dedication to excellence in pharmacy management. Each year a hospital pharmacy practitioner is selected as the John W. Webb Visiting Professorship by a committee appointed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.University of Wisconsin’s (UW) Director of Pharmacy, Steve Rough, was this year’s appointed speaker.

Steve Rough is Director of Pharmacy at UW Health and Clinical Associate Professor at the UW School of Pharmacy. Steve is also Program Director for the Health-System Pharmacy Administration Residency and Masters Program at UW Health. Steve received his Bachelors and Masters degrees from UW Madison, and completed residency training in Pharmacy Practice and Pharmacy Administration at UW Hospital.

Steve has implemented progressive pharmacy services in many settings. He has contributed several textbook chapters and papers in the pharmacy literature on a variety of management and leadership-related topics, and has been an invited lecturer for state and national audiences on these topics as well. Steve completed a four-year term as Treasurer of the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin (PSW) and has served on PSW’s Board of Directors for six years. He has served the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP) in a variety of capacities including Chair, Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers; Chair, Council on Pharmacy Management; and Member, House of Delegates. In 2010, Steve was the recipient of the ASHP Section of Practice Manager’s Distinguished Service Award, and in 2015 he completed a 3-year elected term on the ASHP Board of Directors. In 2015, Steve was the recipient of the Winston J. Durant Lecture Award presented annually to a past UW pharmacy resident who exemplifies success and leadership within the profession. In 2016 Steve was selected as the recipient of the John W. Webb Lecture Award, presented annually by ASHP in conjunction with Northeastern University to a pharmacist who has distinguished themselves through extraordinary dedication to fostering excellence in pharmacy practice management. He also currently serves as Vice Chair of the Vizient University Health System Consortium Pharmacy Network Executive Committee, which leads collaborative efforts to foster pharmacy advancement and innovation across the nation’s 95 academic medical centers.
Steve’s practice interests include pharmacy administration, leadership development, financial management and expansion of the pharmacy enterprise.
Back to Pharmacy Newsletter

Date: 10 27, 2016 | Category: Alumni News, Alumni Newsletter Fall 2016, News, Newsletter, School News |