Interim Dean of the School of Pharmacy

Miriam A. Mobley Smith

Bouvé College of Health Sciences Pharmaceutical Sciences Pharmacy & Health Systems Science

Dr. Mobley Smith is an Evaluation Consultant for the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). During 2016-2017, she served as the Director of Strategic Alliances for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) and until December 2015, served as Dean and Professor at the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy. Prior to her appointment at Chicago State, she was a faculty member and academic administrator for 13 years at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Mobley Smith serves on the Board of Trustees for Chicago State University, University Civil Service Merit Board, Board of Directors for ACCESS Community Health Network (Vice-Chair) and AgeOptions, Futuring Advisory Board for GlaxoSmithKline, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine Drug Research, and Development for Older Adult Populations Workshop Planning Committee, and Editorial Advisory Board for Pharmacy Times.

She was a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 2005 Primary Healthcare Policy Fellow and an American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy 2006 Academic Leadership Fellow. She has served as Chair of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Advisory Panel on Outreach and Education (APOE), Vice-Chair of the Illinois State Board of Pharmacy, Chair of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Council on Education and Workforce Development, member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Committee on the Future Healthcare Workforce for Older Americans, Pharmacy Workforce Center, Inc. Technical Advisory Panel, and Professional Examination Service (PES) Board of Directors.

Dr. Mobley Smith has delivered over 300 invited local, regional and national presentations and published in areas relative to her focus. Her grants, professional and civic awards include the 2018 University of Michigan Alumni Service Award in Pharmacy, 2013 Illinois Pharmacists Association “Pharmacist of the Year”, 2013 Fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, 2012 National Pharmaceutical Association’s Chauncey I. Cooper Award in recognition of sustained and distinguished professional service, 2011 AgeOptions Volunteer Service Award, 2006 Illinois Area Agencies on Aging Sid Granet Aging Network Achievement Award, 2005 Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists “Pharmacist of the Year,” featured in the 2005 Aetna Profiles of African American Pharmacists (African American History Calendar) and the 2004 National Pharmaceutical Association’s James N. Tyson Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

Dr. Mobley Smith received her B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Michigan, PharmD from the University of Illinois, completed a pharmacy practice residency at Sinai Hospital of Detroit and received a Measurement, Design and Analysis Methods for Health Outcomes Research Certificate from Harvard University School of Public Health.

Contact Information


[email protected]

No Curriculum Vitae