Photos: Department of Physical Therapy, Movement, and Rehabilitation Sciences Annual Faculty Awards

Congratulations to those selected for awards from the Department of Physical Therapy, Movement, and Rehabilitation Sciences!

The awards are meant to recognize the department’s colleagues for their hard work and accomplishments throughout the year. See the awards and winners below.

Clinical Educator of the Year Award: Josh Avery
To be awarded to a clinical instructor who has excelled in the field and demonstrated excellence and enthusiasm and dedication to student clinical education.

Faculty Excellence in Community Engagement Award: Camille Powell
This award recognizes Physical Therapy Faculty who demonstrate excellence in community engagement. Community engagement can include the following: outreach, partnerships, and presentation to community groups, collaboration between faculty, staff, students, and community partners, and assessment of student learning as it relates to community interventions and associated community outcomes.

Faculty Innovation in Teaching Award: Heidi Cheerman
This award recognizes Physical Therapy Faculty who demonstrate innovation and enthusiasm in teaching. Innovative teaching methods can include the use of technology, progressive teaching methodology, and assessment of student outcomes.

Friend of the PTMRS Department Award: Mike Crawford
The Friend of the PTMRS Department Award recognizes the dedication and support given to the department by someone within the Northeastern community. This person has in some way contributed to the functioning or advancement of the PTMRS department through their work at Northeastern.

Part-Time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching: Jim Corrente
To be awarded to a part-time Physical Therapy Faculty member who demonstrates excellence in clinical teaching, dedication, enthusiasm, commitment to student learning, and to continuous improvement as an instructor.

PTMRS Mary Lawson Everyday Excellence Award: Pam Sarraulte
This award is given to a PTMRS staff member who consistently displays excellence in all aspects of their job and who goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the department.

Mary Hickey Mentorship Award: Adam Thomas
The Mary Hickey Mentorship Award recognizes a member of the NU faculty who demonstrates effort that goes above and beyond to mentor and provide guidance to others in the NU community dedicated to the development of students. Dr. Mary Hickey embodied the concept of mentorship and was passionate about the field of Physical Therapy, and Northeastern University. She worked as a clinical professor in the NU Physical Therapy department for 25 years. Dr. Hickey possessed a generous heart combined with a sizable wingspan that allowed her to mentor countless NU students, faculty, and community members. She loved to teach – as demonstrated in her Twitter bio: “Passionate about maximizing potential…in the clinic and in the classroom.”

Marguerite Sanderson Award: Adam Thomas
The Marguerite Sanderson Award is awarded to a Physical Therapy faculty who exemplifies the leadership creative and diligent qualities, which Marguerite Sanderson displayed. This faculty must continue to search for endeavors that will benefit those involved with physical therapy – personally, academically, and commitment to student professional development.
In 1918, Ms. Marguerite Sanderson organized World War I emergency courses for reconstruction aides in physical therapy for the army hospitals. At the Boston School of Physical Education (BSPE) founded in 1913, the precursor to the Bouvé College program in Physical Therapy, three groups of students were trained in six-week courses prior to their deployment. These “war courses” trained women who were then known as medical therapists, and this curriculum would form the foundation of what would later be known as physiotherapy.